Latest News


Lady Cardinals win Academic Team of the Year, students named to honor roll

Gadsden, Ala. — Dean Myrick, commissioner of the Alabama Community College Conference, announced the Academic Teams of the Year on June 9. Gadsden State Community College’s Women’s Basketball Team won the state-level honor while other teams were recognized for their high GPAs.

“We are proud of those student-athletes who continue to perform at outstanding levels in the classroom and on the playing field,” said Blake Lewis, Gadsden State’s athletic director. “It is truly an amazing feat to be able to excel academically and athletically. We are proud of our Cardinals.”

The Lady Cardinals Basketball Team earned the top Academic Team of the Year within the sport for touting a team grade point average of 3.51. The only other women’s basketball team recognized for academic excellence is Shelton State Community College with a 3.2 GPA.

“This is our second year in a row to be recognized as the Academic Team of the Year in women’s basketball,” said Bryan Phillips, coach of the women’s basketball team. “I think wins in the classroom are just as big, if not bigger, than wins on the court or field. Being recognized for above-average academic performance is impressive for our student-athletes now as well as those who follow them.”

Other Gadsden State teams to be recognized for having a team GPA of 3.0 or better are Men’s Tennis with a 3.4 and Women’s Volleyball with a 3.35.

Commissioner Myrick also announced the Gadsden State student-athletes named to the Spring 2022 Honor Roll for maintaining a GPA of 3.0 or better. Those recognized include Chloe Davidson, Daigeona Guinn, Montana Moats, Brittany Rivera, Zoee Sitz, Grace Walters, Maggie Woodall and Marie Woodall, all from Women’s Basketball; Tanner Arnold, Noah Hefner, Joanah Hudson and Jac Myrick, all from Men’s Tennis; Savannah Free, Cheyanne Fuqua, Tamara Garner, Savannah Manley, Meagan Milligan, Morgan Moseley, Madalynn Owen, Sidney Peterson and Moriah Seay, all from Volleyball; and Azaad Ben, Xander Bradley, Kintavious Dozier, D’Angelo Foster, Corien Frazier, Parker Godwin and Sloan Phillips, all from Men’s Basketball.

For more information on the Gadsden State Athletic Department, visit